What is this Life?

For everyone who would like to understand ancient wisdom.
For everyone who enjoys philosophy
For everyone who wonders about the recipe for life
For everyone.

Today marks the day the personality, Lord Krishna came into this world  5000 years ago.

Krishna is a hero in the ancient holy text, Bhagavad Gita. This is a practical handbook for living and although associated with the Hindu faith, anyone from any religion can adopt its philosophy of life. It was written by a sage about the battle between righteousness & unrighteousness and how Krishna skillfully and gracefully unfolds secrets of life and death, action and inaction, faith and delusion, through a gripping epic. I would not call myself a religious person, but this text has guided me on how to live my best life.

The Bhagavad Gita is 18 chapters and is written in Sanskrit, primordial sounds of the universe. There are a number of translations and commentaries, but the essence remains the same. I have been fortunate to study this text and am still in the process, but here is a simple summary taken from Ayurveda, that is a beautiful reminder of how we should aspire to be. It is a recipe for human perfection and peace.

Chapter 1: Wrong thinking is a major problem in life
Chapter 2: Right knowledge is the ultimate solution to our problems
Chapter 3: Selflessness is the way to progress & prosperity
Chapter 4: Every act can be an act of prayer
Chapter 5: Renounce the ego of individuality & rejoice in the bliss of infinity
Chapter 6: Connect to the higher consciousness daily
Chapter 7: Live what you learn
Chapter 8: Never give up on yourself
Chapter 9: Value your blessings
Chapter 10: See divinity all around
Chapter 11: Have enough surrender to see the truth as it is
Chapter 12: Absorb your mind and heart in the supreme
Chapter 13: Detach from maya (worldly pleasures/illusion) & attach to divine
Chapter 14: Live a lifestyle that matches your vision
Chapter 15: Give priority to divinity
Chapter 17: Choosing the right over the pleasant is a sign of power
Chapter 18: Let go. let’s move to union with the universe

See what I mean? 🙂 Thanks for reading my first post


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s